2023 London E-Prix results: Jake Dennis crowned Formula E champion

Mitch Evans won the London E-Prix, but P2 was enough for Dennis to claim the Formula E title.

Andretti driver Jake Dennis clinched the 2023 Formula E world championship title with one race to spare, after successfully navigating a chaotic London E-Prix.

Jaguar’s Mitch Evans won the race, which saw two red flag stoppages. But a retirement wiped out Nick Cassidy’s championship hopes, and a P2 finish was enough for Dennis to seal the title.

  1. Dennis seals title after finishing P2
  2. Evans wins London E-Prix, Buemi P3
  3. Mahindra’s Di Grassi goes from P20 to P7

Cassidy out of running after Buemi collision

Dennis headed into the race with a 24 points lead over Cassidy, who started from pole. After leading in the early stages, Cassidy dropped a few places after taking his attack mode, and this is where his race started to unravel. While trying to overtake teammate Sebastien Buemi, two made contact, dislodging Cassidy’s front wing.

After pitting for a new front wing, he was able to rejoin the grid and progressed up to 16th place. But his race couldn’t be salvaged and eventually had to retire.

Dennis crowned 2023 Formula E champion in London

With Cassidy out, Evans – who at this point was in the lead – was the only driver who could stop Dennis from sealing the title; but all Dennis had to do was ensured he finished third. In typical Formula E fashion, this was going to be far from easy.

He had to deal with missing his Attack Mode loop multiple times and two red flag stoppages. In the end, it was a three-lap sprint to the chequered flag. Dennis was up to third place by this time, but he had to hold off Buemi, who had more useable energy than him.

While Evans crossed the line to take victory ahead of Antonio Felix da Costa, Dennis successfully fended off Buemi to become Formula E’s first British world champion. He’s also handed Andretti their first-ever Formula E title; the American team has been part of the series since its inception.

Dennis was eventually promoted to second after da Costa was handed a three-minute time penalty for a technical infraction. This also promoted Buemi to the final spot on the podium.

“I am lost for words, honestly. It means so much to me, the boys standing out there, we have had everything thrown at us, honestly it felt like everyone was racing against us, but Jesus Christ! We have just become world champion! I am so happy for myself, the team, everyone; we deserve this so much,” exclaimed Dennis.

Mahindra scores points

After a couple of difficult rounds, Mahindra Racing finished in the points in London. Lucas di Grassi pulled off a spirited recovery drive from P20 to P7, while teammate Roberto Merhi crossed the line in P16.

2023 Formula E championship standings

While the Drivers’ Championship has been wrapped up, the Teams’ Championship is very much still up for grabs. With just one more race in London to go, Jaguar TCS Racing is level on points with customer team Envision Racing (with 268 points). Porsche is third overall with 241 points, while Andretti is fourth with 236 points.

London E-Prix results

2023 London E-Prix, Round 15 results
Pos Driver Team
1 Mitch Evans Jaguar TCS Racing
2 Jake Dennis Andretti
3 Sebastien Buemi Envision Racing
4 Sam Bird Jaguar TCS Racing
5 Sergio Sette Camara Nio 333 Racing
6 Edoardo Mortara Maserati
7 Lucas di Grassi Mahindra Racing
8 Dan Ticktum Nio 333 Racing
9 Norman Nato Nissan
10 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche
11 Jake Hughes McLaren
12 Stoffel Vandoorne DS Penske
13 Max Guenther Maserati
14 Andre Lotterer Andretti
15 Rene Rast McLaren
16 Roberto Merhi Mahindra Racing
17 Antonio Felix da Costa Porsche
NC Jean-Eric Vergne DS Penske
NC Nick Cassidy Envision Racing
NC Sacha Fenestraz Nissan
NC Robin Frijns ABT Cupra
NC Nico Mueller ABT Cupra

Also see:

Dennis takes Formula E title lead with Rome E-Prix win

Source link

Tags: No tags

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *